37 Ridge Street, North Sydney 2060
(02) 9929 7172

The male rankings of the ATP world tour in 2016 have one outstanding leader in Novak Djokovic who has accumulated over twice as many points as his nearest competitor.

The chasing ranks of the other top four players are fairly close together, giving Djokovic a clear and unsurpassed lead over his rivals.

The details of the top five rankings are as follows:

Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic is a Siberian who is currently ranked as the number one player in the world, born in 1987 he is considered to be one of the greatest players of all time.

Djokovic has won a massive 11 Grand Slam titles a total which is ranked an all time fourth in the Open era alongside the legend of Bjorn Borg. By winning three Grand Slam titles in 2011 he became the sixth male player to win three majors in a calendar year.

Djokovic has won an all time record of six Australian titles including an Open era record of three consecutive titles from 2011-2013.

Andy Murray

Currently ranked as world no.2, Andy Murray has reached at least the quarterfinals of all the Grand Slam tournaments he has entered since 2011.

A twice time Grand Slam winner, Olympic champion and Davis Cup champion he is justifiably ranked as no.2.

At the 2012 US Open, Murray became the British male player since 1936 to win a Grand Slam tournament.

Roger Federer

Another player who is classed as one of the all time greats, Roger Federer has been exciting fans since 2002. And has continuously ranked in the top ten since that date.

Federer holds several records in the Open era holding the no.1 ranking for 237 consecutive weeks. He has won 17 Grand Slam singles titles reaching each Grand Slam final a record five times.

Federer has also won a career Grand Slam and is the only player to win a consecutive 5 US titles. He has also reached 27 men’s singles Grand Slam finals including 10 in a row from 2005 to 2007.

Stan Wawrinka

Currently ranked fourth in the ATP world rankings, Stan Wawrinka has won two Grand Slam singles titles namely the Australian and the French Open.

He also won the ATP 1000 tournament in 2014 at Monte Carlo and was a finalist in the Rome Masters in 2008 and the Madrid Masters in 2013.

Wawrinka is one of the few current players on tour to have reached the quarterfinal stage of all four of the Grand Slams.

Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal is widely accepted as one of the best clay court male players in history.

Nadal has won 14 Grand Slam singles titles and a 2008 Olympic Gold medal. He has won a staggering 28 ATP World Masters 1000 events and 17 ATP World Masters 500 tournaments which equals Roger Federer’s record.

Nadal also was part of the Spanish Davis Cup team that won in 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2011. In 2010 at the young age of 24 won a Career Grand Slam.

If you fancy yourself as the next big thing in tennis then you might want to develop your skills at our Tennis World North Sydney centre.

Our experience team can provide private lessons to help you to hone your skills. Find out more about some of the best tennis courts in North Sydney by calling us today!